• Public Affairs

  • ACOEM Installs New Officers and Directors at AOHC 2015

    Mark A. Roberts, MD, PhD, MPH, FACOEM, Principal Scientist at Exponent, Inc., in Chicago, Ill. was installed as the new president of the American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (ACOEM), the nation’s largest association representing occupational and environmental physicians. Dr. Roberts is among eight physicians who took office on May 6 in Baltimore, Md., during ACOEM’s 100th annual membership meeting held in conjunction with the 2015 American Occupational Health Conference.

    Roberts, MarkDr. Roberts received his PhD and MPH in Biostatistics and Epidemiology from the University of Oklahoma School of Public Health and his MD from the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine in Oklahoma City. Dr. Roberts is a diplomate of the American Board of Preventive Medicine, certified in occupational medicine. He serves a one-year term (2015-2016) as president.

    Other officers installed for one-year terms were President-Elect James A. Tacci, MD, JD, MPH, FACOEM; Vice President Charles M. Yarborough III, MD, MPH, FACOEM; and Secretary-Treasurer Jeffrey S. Harris, MD, MPH, MBA, FACOEM.

    Jim TacciDr. Tacci is Medical Director, Department of Occupational Medicine, at the Rochester General Health System in Rochester, N.Y. He is also an Assistant Professor and Chair of the Residency Advisory Committee at the University of Rochester Medical Center’s Department of Public Health Sciences. Dr. Tacci received his MD from the University of Rochester, his JD from Syracuse University, and his MPH from the State University of New York at Albany.

    ChasYarboroughDr. Yarborough is President of CYHealthAssociates, LLC, of Bethesda, Md., Advisor for the Occupational and Environmental Medicine Residency Program at Johns Hopkins University, Associate at Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, and medical staff member in the Department of Medicine at Johns Hopkins Medicine’s hospital in Bethesda. He received his MD from the University of Alabama at Birmingham and his MPH from the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee.

    Jeff HarrisDr. Harris is Senior Physician with The Permanente Medical Group, San Francisco, Calif., and President of J. Harris Associates, Inc., of Mill Valley, Calif. He is also Clinical Associate Professor at the University of California at San Francisco and the University of Utah in Salt Lake City. Dr. Harris received his MD from the University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, his MPH from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, and his MBA from the Owen School of Management at Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tenn.

    Installed as Directors for 3-year terms (2015-2018) were Richard F. Johnson, MD, MPH, FACOEM; Paul J. Papanek, MD, FACOEM; and Daniel G. Samo, MD, FACOEM. Muktar H. Aliyu, MD, DrPH, MPH, FACOEM, was also installed as Director to fulfill the remaining year of Dr. Yarborough’s term (2013-2016).

    RichardJohnsonDr. Johnson is Owner and Medical Director of Lakeside Occupational Medical Centers, Inc., of Largo, Fla. He is Adjunct Professor of Occupational and Environmental Medicine at the University of South Florida School of Public Health in Tampa, active in its Occupational Medicine Residency Program. Dr. Johnson received his MD from the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis and his MPH from the University of South Florida.

    Dr. PapanekDr. Papanek is Public Health Medical Officer with the California Division of Occupational Safety and Health (Cal/OSHA), Torrance, Calif., and Clinical Faculty and member of the Residency Advisory Committee for the University of California (UC) Irvine’s Occupational Medicine Residency Program. He received his MD from UC San Diego and his MPH from UC Los Angeles.

    DanSamoDr. Samo is Medical Director for the Division of Health Promotion and Corporate Services and Division of Public Safety Medicine, at Northwestern Medical Group in Chicago, Ill. He is also Assistant Professor at the Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine in Chicago. Dr. Samo received his MD from Chicago Medical School in North Chicago, Ill.

    Dr. MuktarDr. Aliyu is Associate Professor of Preventive Medicine at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, Nashville, Tenn., and practices at Vanderbilt’s Occupational Health Clinic. He is also Associate Professor of Family and Community Medicine and Associate Director of the Occupational Medicine Residency Program at Meharry Medical College in Nashville. Dr. Aliyu received his MD from Ahmadu Bello University, Nigeria, his MPH from George Washington University, Washington, D.C., and his DrPH from the University of Alabama.

    Dr. MuellerKathryn L. Mueller, MD, MPH, FACOEM, serves one additional year on the Board as Immediate Past President. Dr. Mueller is Professor, School of Public Health and Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Colorado Anschutz Campus in Denver, and Medical Director at the Colorado Division of Workers’ Compensation. She received her MD from the University of Nebraska in Omaha and her MPH from the Medical College of Wisconsin.

    Also serving one-year terms on the Board are the Speaker and Speaker-elect of the ACOEM House of Delegates — Philip Adamo, MD, MPH, FACOEM, and Nelson S. Haas, MD, MPH, FACOEM, respectively. Dr. Adamo of Employee Health and Occupational Injury Care, University of Massachusetts Memorial Medical Center, Worcester, Mass., and Dr. Haas of Workplace Health, Augusta, Maine, were installed as House officers on May 3 at the 98th Session of the House along with newly elected HOD Recorder Douglas W. Martin, MD, FACOEM, of UnityPoint Clinic, Sioux City, Iowa.

    The following members continue their terms as Directors (2013-2016): Steven Pike, MD, JD, MBA, MS, FACOEM, and James P. Seward, MD, MPP, MMM, FACOEM; (2014-2017): Karl Auerbach, MD, MBA, MS, FACOEM; Stephen A. Frangos, MD, MPH, FACOEM; Amanda C. Trimpey, MD, MPH, FACOEM; and Young Physician Director Tanisha K. Taylor, MD, MPH, FACOEM.

                                                                                          # # #

    About ACOEM — The American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine represents nearly 4,500 physicians specializing in occupational and environmental medicine. Founded in 1916, ACOEM is the nation’s largest medical society dedicated to promoting the health of workers through preventive medicine, clinical care, disability management, research, and education. For more information, visit www.acoem.org.