• About ACOEM

  • To recognize outstanding achievements by individuals who implement programs that improve the health and productivity of the workforce, from 2009 to 2014, the American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (ACOEM) and the National Business Group on Health (NBGH) presented an annual award for excellence in corporate health and productivity -- The Global Leadership in Corporate Health Award. 

    To be named a global leader in corporate health is a highly selective honor that recognizes outstanding achievements in promoting health and productivity among workers and leading organizations toward a culture of health. The Global Leadership in Corporate Health Award is granted annually to one outstanding physician who has made major contributions to, and captures the essence, of the field. Recipients of the award display medical leadership in developing data-driven health innovations in the workplace, providing leadership and vision, and/or publishing outstanding research in the field of health and productivity management (HPM).

    Award Criteria

    The criteria used to select the recipient included one or more of the following: 

    • Contributed greatly to the health of the workforce through application of HPM principles or research in the field of HPM
    • Is an outstanding, visionary  medical leader in the field with global reach or impact
    • Developed and/or utilized integrated and data-driven solutions to improve workforce and family health and productivity
    • Promoted workplace health, safety and wellness in local, regional or national initiatives
    • Developed specific HPM protocols or programs that have been successfully implemented
    • Person of great integrity

    Award Recipients

    2014 -- Ray Fabius, MD
    2013 -- Fikry Isaac, MD 
    2012 -- Catherine Baase, MD 
    2011 -- Pamela A. Hymel, MD 
    2010 –- Martín-J. Sepúlveda, MD  
    2009 –- Wayne Burton, MD